Feeling Out of Sorts this Holiday Season

Is it weird to be getting holiday blues when I don’t really have anything to be blue about? It seems like everyone else is affected by the infamous “2016 sucked & so do the holidays” syndrome. It’s crazy, sure there will be people who just don’t get into the holidays. BUT for me of all people?? I started decorating my dorm and busting out my jingle bell earrings November 1st (my friend had a video with a time stamp to prove it).

Does anyone have an explanation for this phenomena?

Even my younger brothers admit that they aren’t in the “Christmas spirit”.

My explanation for myself at least is that all the events of 2016 have sort of overshadowed Christmas for me. Things happened that stressed me out like crazy, and now I’m more focused on relaxing rather than getting pumped for the holidays.

It’s taking quite a long time for me to get excited about Christmas, and I really really really want to be excited! I used to love sitting on the couch watching christmas specials, and listening to christmas music.

You know what? Maybe it is because I haven’t watched a single christmas movie or special at all. Is that possible? That my Christmas spirit is energized by how many christmas movies I’ve watched so far? That’s crazy.

The thing is, I’m not the only one. It’s been trending on social media as well. Posts such as these have appeared:

Screen Shot 2016-12-22 at 6.19.23 PM.png

Let’s hope I don’t feel empty this Christmas, that would be the ultimate cherry on top for the worst year ever: 2016.

Can anyone explain this to me? Or have any ideas? My curiosity about this is through the roof and I have no explanation.

I thought maybe it was because presents and material things were consuming “the true meaning of christmas”, so I gave no thought to presents this year.

Unfortunately, that just made me feel even worse about Christmas. Most of my Christmas spirit goes toward wrapping presents and thinking about presents so now that I didn’t do that, I didn’t feel like I really participated in Christmas.

Which again, seems crazy to me.

Anyway, I hope those of you who are going through the same weird funk will have a great Christmas. And for those of you who aren’t really into the holidays, I still wish you a fantastic holiday weekend.

-Kae

Leave a Reply

